Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Social Justice

Available at NECC Online.

" Emerging disabilities are disabling conditions that are new to medical science, often medically debated, and lacking in known etiology; or those increasing in prevalence in recent years. This master's-level text is the first to eschew traditional disabilities to focus specifically on the unique characteristics and needs of individuals with disabilities such as multiple chemical sensitivity, fibromyalgia, and Lyme disease, or those currently increasing in prevalence (e.g., diabetes, autism, PTSD), and explore their implications for rehabilitation counseling practice. The text is also unique in its examination of how disability causes, types, and patterns are changing in response to current medical, social, cultural, and environmental trends and addressing necessary changes to rehabilitation policies and practices to better serve consumers with emerging disabilities. The book explores important sociological and environmental phenomena such as global warming, pollution, poverty, violence, migration patterns, addiction, and substance abuse, and the changing age demographic of the United States that has altered the landscape of disability policy and rehabilitation services in the 21st century. Each chapter provides specific examples of disabling conditions and discusses their medical, psychosocial, and vocational significance. The authors examine implications for rehabilitation assessment, planning, and placement, and emphasize changes needed to rehabilitation policy and practice. The text is replete with practical evidence-based strategies for meeting the psychosocial and vocational needs of people with emerging disabilities. Chapters include case examples, learning objectives, and discussion questions. Key Features: Describes disabling conditions either new to medical science or increasing in prevalence in modern society Examines sociocultural, environmental, and legislative trends that have resulted in emerging disabilities Delivers policy, programming, and research recommendations to improve services and supports for Americans with emerging disabilities Provides practical, evidence-based strategies for meeting the psychosocial and vocational needs of people with emerging disabilities Includes learning objectives, case examples, and discussion questions Supplemental materials include PowerPoints, syllabus, and test bank"

Available at NECC Online.

"This book will provide nurses with the information to make objective and fact based assessments...Moreover, it will arm nursing professionals with an understanding of how the issue of disability is affecting workforce supply in nursing, how accommodations can provide assistance to individuals with disabilities, and how a balanced and thoughtful approach can allow nursing professionals to function to their fullest.. Geraldine Polly Bednash, PhD, RN, FAAN. Chief Executive Officer/Executive Director. American Association of Colleges of Nursing. This book] has brought together information and real-life experiences of nurses who have disabilities. It will serve as an invaluable source of information on the impact of disability on the employment and retention of registered nurses.. Suzanne C. Smeltzer, EdD, RN, FAAN. Professor and Director, Center for Nursing Research. Villanova University College of Nursing. This is the first research-based book to confront workplace issues facing nurses who have disabilities. It not only examines in-depth their experiences, roadblocks to successful employment, and misperceptions surrounding these nurses, but also provides viable solutions for creating positive attitudes towards them and a welcoming work environment that fosters hiring and retention. From the perspectives and actual voices of nurses with disabilities, nurse leaders, nurse administrators, and patients, the book identifies nurses with disabilities (including sensory, musculoskeletal, emotional, and mental health issues), discusses why they choose to leave nursing or hide their disabilities, and analyzes how their disabilities may influence career choices. Written by the foremost researcher on nurses with disabilities, the book addresses patient safety, environmental factors, and retention strategies. It discusses why many nurses feel the need to conceal their disability even though it does not affect their ability to carry out their duties. It addresses interactions with colleagues, administrators, and patients and explores the common misperception that nurses with disabilities jeopardize patient safety. The text discusses potential solutions such as changing nursing education, altering nurse job description, and enhancing workplace accommodations. It seeks to influence nurse leaders and administrators, who have the power to institute change and retain nurses with disabilities, and will be a valuable asset to nursing classes in policy and leadership. Key Features: .: Provides solutions regarding professional issues faced by nurses with disabilities; Helps nurse recruiters and administrators clarify and strengthen retention strategies; Features the voices of nurses with disabilities, nurse leaders, recruitment specialists, and patients; Buttressed by four research studies and written by the leading researcher in the field."

Available at NECC Online.

"The social and political history of disabilities reveals some of the historical roots that anchor some of our current beliefs, attitudes and perceptions of disabilities and persons who possess disabilities. An understanding of the social and political history of disabilities in the United States is important for rehabilitation professionals and other helping professionals who work with persons with disabilities not only to understand how history affects our current attitudes and behavior but also to provide a perspective on how current events and actions that have produced the present state of."

Available at NECC Online.

"This book is a concise but comprehensive review of Specific Learning Disabilities, with a special attention to the biology of these diverse conditions. The reader will get a review of most aspects of SLD, including the different clinical syndromes (mostly dyslexia and dyscalculia), the clinical manifestations and the therapeutic approaches. It is unique in the proportion of its content dedicated to the biological aspects of SLD. It attempts to assemble and present the biological knowledge which has been accumulated on these conditions. This knowledge includes the neurological anatomy of dyslexia and dyscalculia, demonstrated with the help of modern neuro-imaging studies, and the physiology and the genetics of these conditions, again demonstrated by recently available technologies. These new technologies produced major discoveries related to SLD including the importance of phonological processing in reading, the presence of "number center¨in the brain, and the rain networks involved in reading. We recognize that many dyslexic subjects have a deficit in aspects of language processing, specifically phonological processing; that dyscalculia can be the result of a number of distinct cognitive impairments, and that the basic underlying deficit in many cases of SLD may be a genetic variation. The same new biological investigative techniques can, like never before, measure the outcome of therapeutic techniques and learning methods. Such measurements will, in the future, be the "gold standard¨in assessing the efficacy of different methods of classroom teaching in regular and different learners.Last, unlike many other publications on SLD, this book discusses the relatively unrecognized emotional aspects of SLD, and the sometimes devastating effects that these conditions have on the life of affected subjects and their families, in and out of the classroom."

Available through OverDrive and Libby.

The beloved #1 New York Times bestselling and Newbery Honor winning graphic novel memoir from Cece Bell   Starting at a new school is scary, especially with a giant hearing aid strapped to your chest! At her old school, everyone in Cece's class was deaf. Here, she's different. She's sure the kids are staring at the Phonic Ear, the powerful aid that will help her hear her teacher. Too bad it also seems certain to repel potential friends.   Then Cece makes a startling discovery. With the Phonic Ear she can hear her teacher not just in the classroom but anywhere her teacher is in the school--in the hallway . . . in the teacher's lounge . . . in the bathroom! This is power. Maybe even superpower! Cece is on her way to becoming El Deafo, Listener for All. But the funny thing about being a superhero is that it's just another way of feeling different . . . and lonely. Can Cece channel her powers into finding the thing she wants most, a true friend?   Also Available: El Deafo: Superpowered Edition! Get a special hardcover collector's edition of Cece Bell's beloved graphic novel with 40 bonus pages of childhood photographs, early sketches, notes from Cece, and much more!    

Available through OverDrive and Libby.

"The concise, authoritative guide for parents new to the subject of autism.

Autism Handbook for Parents: Facts and Strategies for Parenting Success is written specifically for parents of children recently diagnosed with autism. Although it is a relief to know there is a name for their child's problems, many parents are unsure what steps to take after a child is diagnosed with autism.

This book offers concrete answers to parents' questions and concerns. Clear and concise information on autism is provided, including how autism can affect learning and behavior. Parents will receive the information needed to help them advocate for their child and make decisions on various treatments and educational interventions.

The author also includes advice on preventing many behavioral problems, dealing with those that do occur, and teaching early skills that are critical to a child's success. Autism Handbook for Parents is a must-have for those looking to be an effective advocate, teacher, and parent of their child with autism."

Available through OverDrive and Libby.

"Finally, a groundbreaking book that reveals what your dyslexic child is experiencing—and what you can do so that he or she will thrive
More than thirty million people in the United States are dyslexic—a brain-based genetic trait, often labeled as a "learning disability" or "learning difference," that makes interpreting text and reading difficult. Yet even though children with dyslexia may have trouble reading, they don't have any problems learning; dyslexia has nothing to do with a lack of intellect.
While other books tell you what dyslexia is, this book tells you what to do. Dyslexics' innate skills, which may include verbal, social, spatial, kinesthetic, visual, mathematical, or musical abilities, are their unique key to acquiring knowledge. Figuring out where their individual strengths lie, and then harnessing these skills, offers an entrée into learning and excelling. And by keeping the focus on learning, not on standard reading the same way everyone else does, a child with dyslexia can and will develop the self-confidence to flourish in the classroom and beyond.
After years of battling with a school system that did not understand his dyslexia and the shame that accompanied it, renowned activist and entrepreneur Ben Foss is not only open about his dyslexia, he is proud of it. In The Dyslexia Empowerment Plan he shares his personal triumphs and failures so that you can learn from his experiences, and provides a three-step approach for success:
• Identify your child's profile: By mapping your child's strengths and weaknesses and assisting her to better understand who she is, you can help your child move away from shame and feelings of inadequacy and move toward creating a powerful program for learning.
• Help your child help himself: Coach your child to become his own best advocate by developing resiliency, confidence, and self-awareness, and focusing on achievable goals in areas that matter most to him.
• Create community: Dyslexic children are not broken, but too often the system designed to educate them is. Dare to change your school so that your child has the resources to thrive. Understanding your rights and finding allies will make you and your child feel connected and no longer alone.
Packed with practical ideas and strategies dyslexic children need for excelling in school and in life, this empowering guide provides the framework for charting a future for your child that is bright with hope and unlimited potential."

Available at NECC Haverhill.

Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor and award-winning artist Rafael Lopez create a kind and caring book about the differences that make each of us special. Feeling different, especially as a kid, can be tough. But in the same way that different types of plants and flowers make a garden more beautiful and enjoyable, different types of people make our world more vibrant and wonderful. In Just Ask, United States Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor celebrates the different abilities kids (and people of all ages) have. Using her own experience as a child who was diagnosed with diabetes, Justice Sotomayor writes about children with all sorts of challenges--and looks at the special powers those kids have as well. As the kids work together to build a community garden, asking questions of each other along the way, this book encourages readers to do the same- When we come across someone who is different from us but we're not sure why, all we have to do is Just Ask.

Available at NECC Haverhill.

An original Jewish folktale about a girl who knits, a deaf woman, and a piece of blue yarn.         When her family invites a deaf woman and her baby to stay, Ruthie, a talented knitter of mittens, wonders how the mother will know if her child wakes in the night. The surprising answer inspires Ruthie to knit a special gift that offers great comfort to mother and baby--and to Ruthie herself.         With language and imagery reminiscent of stories told long ago, this modern Jewish folktale will resonate with those who love crafts, anyone who's encountered someone with physical differences--and with everyone who has ever lost a mitten in the depths of winter. From the Hardcover edition.

Available at NECC Haverhill.

Isaac Millman tells Moses Goes to a Concert in pictures and written English, and in American Sign Language (ASL), introducing hearing children to the signs for some of the key words and ideas. Moses and his school friends are deaf, but like most children, they have a lot to say. They communicate in American Sigh Language, using visual signs and facial expressions. This is called signing. And even though they can't hear, they can enjoy many activities through their other senses. Today, Moses and his classmates are going to a concert. Their teacher, Mr. Samuels, has two surprises in store for them, to make this particular concert a special event. You can learn sign language, too! At the end of the book are two full conversations in sign language and a page showing the hand alphabet.

Available at NECC Haverhill.

A 2019 Schneider Family Book Award Winner Based on a real-life partnership, the heartening story of the love and teamwork between a girl and her service dog will illuminate and inspire. Rescue thought he'd grow up to be a Seeing Eye dog -- it's the family business, after all. When he gets the news that he's better suited to being a service dog, he's worried that he's not up to the task. Then he meets Jessica, a girl whose life is turning out differently than the way she'd imagined it, too. Now Jessica needs Rescue by her side to help her accomplish everyday tasks. And it turns out that Rescue can help Jessica see after all: a way forward, together, one step at a time. An endnote from the authors tells more about the training and extraordinary abilities of service dogs, particularly their real-life best friend and black lab, Rescue.

Available at NECC Haverhill.

This anthology explores disability in fictional tales told from the viewpoint of disabled characters, written by disabled creators. With stories in various genres about first loves, friendship, war, travel, and more,Unbrokenwill offer today's teen readers a glimpse into the lives of disabled people in the past, present, and future. The contributing authors are awardwinners, bestsellers, and newcomers including Kody Keplinger, Kristine Wyllys, Francisco X. Stork, William Alexander, Corinne Duyvis, Marieke Nijkamp, Dhonielle Clayton, Heidi Heilig, Katherine Locke, Karuna Riazi, Kayla Whaley, Keah Brown, and Fox Benwell. Each author identifies as disabled along a physical, mental, or neurodiverse axis--and their characters reflect this diversity.

Available at NECC Haverhill.

"Book & CD-ROM. Newly revised and updated, this compassionate and authoritative guide is based on Libby Kumin's thirty years of experience of working with children and adolescents with Down syndrome and their families. Dr Kumin draws on her vast experience to show parents how they can support and encourage their child's speech and language development from birth to age 6 (or when a child can form 2- to 3-word sentences). Parents and teachers learn how to work through characteristic challenges, including hearing loss, intelligibility issues, apraxia (difficulty planning oral-motor movements), or a slower pace of development. Families soon see that many children with Down syndrome are natural and willing communicators. In a warm and conversational style, the author shares her professional expertise in parent-friendly terms. She uses specific examples of difficulties and successes to illustrate the concepts behind speech and language development, and includes the latest research supporting current early intervention and pre-school approaches that can be used at home and in schools. This third edition features expanded information on the needs of children with apraxia, dual diagnosis of autism and Down syndrome, and updated terminology and information on special education law. An expanded chapter explains how technology and augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) can help with speech and language, foster communication, and provide inexpensive transitional language systems. Dozens of forms are now included on a CD-ROM to be used for assessment, developing treatment plans, and keeping detailed records of progress. Teachers, speech-language pathologists, and parents will love the convenience of printing multiple copies of forms and organising information for IEP meetings or periodic evaluations."

Available at NECC Online.

"The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and other national policies are designed to ensure the greatest possible inclusion of people with disabilities in all aspects of American life. But as a matter of national policy we still place the lion's share of responsibility for raising children with disabilities on their families. While this strategy largely works, sociologist Dennis Hogan maintains, the reality is that family financial security, the parents' relationship, and the needs of other children in the home all can be stretched to the limit. In Family Consequences of Children's Disabilities Hogan delves inside the experiences of these families and examines the financial and emotional costs of raising a child with a disability. The book examines the challenges families of children with disabilities encounter and how these challenges impact family life. The first comprehensive account of the families of children with disabilities, Family Consequences of Children's Disabilities employs data culled from seven national surveys and interviews with twenty-four mothers of children with disabilities, asking them questions about their family life, social supports, and how other children in the home were faring. Not surprisingly, Hogan finds that couples who are together when their child is born have a higher likelihood of divorcing than other parents do. The potential for financial insecurity contributes to this anxiety, especially as many parents must strike a careful balance between employment and caregiving. Mothers are less likely to have paid employment, and the financial burden on single parents can be devastating. One-third of children with disabilities live in single-parent households, and nearly 30 percent of families raising a child with a disability live in poverty. Because of the high levels of stress these families incur, support networks are crucial. Grandparents are often a source of support. Siblings can also assist with personal care and, consequently, tend to develop more helpful attitudes, be more inclusive of others, and be more tolerant. But these siblings are at risk for their own health problems: they are three times more likely to experience poor health than children in homes where there is no child with a disability. Yet this book also shows that raising a child with a disability includes unexpected rewards--the families tend to be closer, and they engage in more shared activities such as games, television, and meals. Family Consequences of Children's Disabilities offers access to a world many never see or prefer to ignore. The book provides vital information on effective treatment, rehabilitation, and enablement to medical professionals, educators, social workers, and lawmakers. This compelling book demonstrates that every mirror has two faces: raising a child with a disability can be difficult, but it can also offer expanded understanding. A Volume in the American Sociological Association's Rose Series in Sociology."

Available at NECC Haverhill.

"Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award, a Books for a Better Life Award, and one of The New York Times Book Review's Ten Best Books of 2012, this masterpiece by the National Book Award-winning author of The Noonday Demon features stories of parents who not only learn to deal with their exceptional children, but also find profound meaning in doing so--"a brave, beautiful book that will expand your humanity" (People). Solomon's startling proposition in Far from the Tree is that being exceptional is at the core of the human condition--that difference is what unites us. He writes about families coping with deafness, dwarfism, Down syndrome, autism, schizophrenia, or multiple severe disabilities; with children who are prodigies, who are conceived in rape, who become criminals, who are transgender. While each of these characteristics is potentially isolating, the experience of difference within families is universal, and Solomon documents triumphs of love over prejudice in every chapter. All parenting turns on a crucial question: to what extent should parents accept their children for who they are, and to what extent they should help them become their best selves. Drawing on ten years of research and interviews with more than three hundred families, Solomon mines the eloquence of ordinary people facing extreme challenges. Elegantly reported by a spectacularly original and compassionate thinker, Far from the Tree explores how people who love each other must struggle to accept each other--a theme in every family's life."

Available at NECC Haverhill.

"Approximately 2.5 million people in the United States--one percent of the population--have an intellectual disability (previously referred to as mental retardation). These conditions range from genetic disorders such as Down syndrome to disabilities caused by infectious diseases and braininjury. Intellectual Disability: A Guide for Families and Professionals, by one of the country's foremost authorities on intellectual disability, is a comprehensive resource that will be of importance to anyone with a personal connection to a child or adult with a neurodevelopmental disorder.Emphasizing the humanity of persons with intellectual and related developmental disabilities, psychiatrist and pediatrician James Harris provides essential information on assessment and diagnosis of intellectual disability, treatments for specific disorders, and ways to take advantage of the widearray of services available today. The focus throughout is on the development of the person, the positive supports necessary for self-determination, and, to the extent possible, independent decision making. Harris also surveys historical attitudes toward intellectual disability, the medicalcommunity's current understanding of its causes and frequency, and the associated physical, behavioral, and psychiatric conditions (such as seizure disorder, depression, and autism) that often accompany particular types of intellectual disability. The book addresses legal, medical, mental health,and research-related issues as well as matters of spirituality, highlighting the ways in which individuals with intellectual disability can meaningfully participate in the spiritual lives of their families and their communities. Each chapter ends with a series of key points to remember, and the bookconcludes with a list of additional resources of further interest.Intellectual Disability is a must-read for parents and families of those with neurodevelopmental disorders, providing guidance and essential information to help their family members effectively, and to make a significant, positive difference in their lives now and in the future."

Available at NECC Haverhill.

"Winner, 2016 Outstanding Publication in the Sociology of Disability, American Sociological Association, Section Disability and Society Examines the experiences of mothers coping with their children's "invisible disabilities" in the face of daunting social, economic, and political realities Recent years have seen an explosion in the number of children diagnosed with "invisible disabilities" such as ADHD, mood and conduct disorders, and high-functioning autism spectrum disorders. Whether they are viewed as biological problems in brain wiring or as results of the increasing medicalization of childhood, the burden of dealing with the day-to-day trials and complex medical and educational decisions falls almost entirely on mothers. Yet few ask how these mothers make sense of their children's troubles, and to what extent they feel responsibility or blame. Raising Generation Rx offers a groundbreaking study that situates mothers' experiences within an age of neuroscientific breakthrough, a high-stakes knowledge-based economy, cutbacks in public services and decent jobs, and increased global competition and racialized class and gender inequality. Through in-depth interviews, observations of parents' meetings, and analyses of popular advice, Linda Blum examines the experiences of diverse mothers coping with the challenges of their children's "invisible disabilities" in the face of daunting social, economic, and political realities. She reveals how mothers in widely varied households learn to advocate for their children in the dense bureaucracies of the educational and medical systems; wrestle with anguishing decisions about the use of psychoactive medications; and live with the inescapable blame and stigma in their communities."

Available at NECC Haverhill.

"Wallace Stegner's Pultizer Prize-winning novel is a story of discovery—personal, historical, and geographical. Confined to a wheelchair, retired historian Lyman Ward sets out to write his grandparents' remarkable story, chronicling their days spent carving civilization into the surface of America's western frontier. But his research reveals even more about his own life than he's willing to admit. What emerges is an enthralling portrait of four generations in the life of an American family."

Available at NECC Haverhill.

"When Willow is born with severe osteogenesis imperfecta, her parents are devastated--she will suffer hundreds of broken bones as she grows, a lifetime of pain. In this provocative story from the #1 New York Times bestselling author, "Picoult writes with unassuming brilliance" (Stephen King). Every expectant parent will tell you that they don't want a perfect baby, just a healthy one. Charlotte and Sean O'Keefe would have asked for a healthy baby, too, if they'd been given the choice. Instead, their lives are made up of sleepless nights, mounting bills, the pitying stares of "luckier" parents, and maybe worst of all, the what-ifs. What if their child had been born healthy? But it's all worth it because Willow is, funny as it seems, perfect. She's smart as a whip, on her way to being as pretty as her mother, kind, brave, and for a five-year-old an unexpectedly deep source of wisdom. Willow is Willow, in sickness and in health. Everything changes, though, after a series of events forces Charlotte and her husband to confront the most serious what-ifs of all. What if Charlotte had known earlier of Willow's illness? What if things could have been different? What if their beloved Willow had never been born? To do Willow justice, Charlotte must ask herself these questions and one more. What constitutes a valuable life? Emotionally riveting and profoundly moving, Handle with Care is an unforgettable novel about the fragility of life and the lengths we will go to protect it."

Available at NECC Haverhill.

"The beloved classic that turned Carson McCullers into an overnight literary sensation. At its center is the deaf-mute John Singer, who becomes the confidant for various types of misfits in a Georgia mill town during the 1930s. Each one yearns for escape from small town life. When Singer's mute companion goes insane, Singer moves into the Kelly house, where Mick Kelly, the book's heroine (and loosely based on McCullers), finds solace in her music. Wonderfully attuned to the spiritual isolation that underlies the human condition, and with a deft sense for racial tensions in the South, McCullers spins a haunting, unforgettable story that gives voice to the rejected, the forgotten, and the mistreated--and, through Mick Kelly, gives voice to the quiet, intensely personal search for beauty.    "

Available at NECC Haverhill.

"Jessica Speight, a young anthropology student in 1960s London, is at the beginning of a promising academic career when an affair with her married professor turns her into a single mother. Anna is a pure gold baby with a delightful sunny nature. But as it becomes clear that Anna will not be a normal child, the book circles questions of responsibility, potential, even age, with Margaret Drabble's characteristic intelligence, sympathy, and wit. Drabble once wrote, "Family life itself, that safest, most traditional, most approved of female choices, is not a sanctuary; it is, perpetually, a dangerous place." Told from the point of view of the group of mothers who surround Jess, The Pure Gold Baby is a brilliant, prismatic novel that takes us into that place with satiric verve, trenchant commentary, and a movingly intimate story of the unexpected transformations at the heart of motherhood."

Available at NECC Lawrence.

"A vividly original literary novel based on the astounding true-life story of Laura Bridgman, the first deaf and blind person who learned language and blazed a trail for Helen Keller. At age two, Laura Bridgman lost four of her five senses to scarlet fever. At age seven, she was taken to Perkins Institute in Boston to determine if a child so terribly afflicted could be taught. At age twelve, Charles Dickens declared her his prime interest for visiting America. And by age twenty, she was considered the nineteenth century's second most famous woman, having mastered language and charmed the world with her brilliance. Not since The Diving Bell and the Butterfly has a book proven so profoundly moving in illuminating the challenges of living in a completely unique inner world. With Laura-by turns mischievous, temperamental, and witty-as the book's primary narrator, the fascinating kaleidoscope of characters includes the founder of Perkins Institute, Samuel Gridley Howe, with whom she was in love; his wife, the glamorous Julia Ward Howe, a renowned writer, abolitionist, and suffragist; Laura's beloved teacher, who married a missionary and died insane from syphilis; an Irish orphan with whom Laura had a tumultuous affair; Annie Sullivan; and even the young Helen Keller. Deeply enthralling and rich with lyricism, What is Visible chronicles the breathtaking experiment that Laura Bridgman embodied and its links to the great social, philosophical, theological, and educational changes rocking Victorian America. Given Laura's worldwide fame in the nineteenth century, it is astonishing that she has been virtually erased from history. What is Visible will set the record straight."

Available at NECC Online.

"Although research on athletes with disabilities has increased dramatically in the last 10 years, much of this research on been on athletes with physical disabilities. The authors of the first chapter of this book examine four areas: mental skills, motivation, effective sport psychology service and research from related sub-disciplines (e.g., exercise physiology) that is relevant because of indirect influences (e.g., skill and fitness development) on performance. The second chapter explores possible modifiable and theory-based factors associated with parasport progression. The third chapter charts a course for effective interpersonal relationships between team members and team harmony and performance in sports organizations. The author proposes a psychological perspective that is driven by affective behavior foundation, with major implications for the future. The authors of the fourth chapter discuss recent technologies for monitoring eye movements, which are being actively implemented in the process of rendering psychological support to athletes. In the final chapter, the authors discuss the psychological aspects of sprint runners, in particular two interrelated constructs - athletic engagement (AE) and Athletic Identity (AI)."

Available at NECC Online.

": Diversity and Inclusion in the Recreation Profession explores the construct of diversity within the context of managing and providing recreation and leisure-related services. Using multiple perspectives and comprehensive research, this book highlight the influence of markers of diversity on the issues and problems perceived and/or experienced by diverse groups; the nature and types of institutional barriers that organizational professionals often unwittingly create in their response, or lack thereof, to diverse populations; and transformational opportunities, both individual and organizational, that result through enhanced commitment to organizational diversity and inclusion. This edition features case studies of organizations successfully addressing diversity and inclusion; an expanded number of professional voices and their lived experiences with diversity as professionals in recreation, leisure, tourism, and sport organizations; and a new chapter on religion and spirituality as they relate to diversity, in addition to refreshed or completely new content chapters. Both editors have taught at the higher education level. Schneider’s professional experience includes the service industry, the lodging sector, and as an outdoor recreation planner. Kivel cofounded and directed the Lavender Youth Recreation and Information Center (LYRIC). The contributors span a variety of professions from professor, public health nurse researcher and educator, museum director, social justice educator, to learning and development consultant at a library publisher's description."

Available at NECC Online.

"Sports Rehabilitation and the Human Spirit tells the intersecting story of a man, Michael E. Stephens, and an organization, the Lakeshore Foundation of Birmingham, Alabama, whose campus is world-renowned for rehabilitation, sports, and fitness services for children and adults who have experienced physical disability as a result of injuries, birth conditions, illness, or in service to our nation. This includes those with paralysis, amputations, and limited mobility and function due to muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, cerebral palsy, spina bifida, stroke, and other health conditions that could present significant physical challenges.

Stephens himself experienced a spinal injury and paralysis as a young man, later becoming a successful hospital executive and entrepreneur. The Foundation came out of this work, and today the Foundation operates a 45-acre campus, the showcase of which is a state-of-the-art 126,000-square-foot building that hosts many regional and national competitions for individual and team sports for those with physical disabilities.

Some Lakeshore participants engage in sports and recreation for fun, others are Lakeshore-based athletes engaged in competitive sports, and still others are Paralympic and Olympic athletes who come to Lakeshore Foundation for training; in 2003, Lakeshore was designated by the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) as an official U.S. Training Site for Paralympic and Olympic athletes.

Mike Stephens’s story and Lakeshore's story are told here along with the inspiring stories of many individuals with disabilities who have rebuilt their lives through sports and fitness."