Sign in with your NECC Microsoft account (StudentID@student.necc.edu or StaffName@necc.mass.edu) to access library databases off-campus. See the Office 365 Help page for help with your NECC Microsoft account.
The NECC Libraries have over 46,000 books and films. We also have a collection of 20,000 e-books which are in our library catalog. If you want to see what the other libraries in our network own, change the scope to All HELM or View Entire Collection. You can request books and movies using your NECC Library card and PIN number.
Remember, if you can't find any material on your topic, ask an NECC librarian for assistance.
Searching for books on art in the NECC Library Catalog is relatively easy. A keyword search on a topic such as Persian Art will bring up a list of books, ebooks, and other media types on the subject.
In some cases, there may not be as many sources on our campuses as you would like. In that case, you can widen your search to all the libraries in our network (HELM).
Bridgeman Images: DeAgostini Library
A complete, comprehensive European collection of art. Images from the Bridgeman Art Library.
The Dictionary of Art by
Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. The Dictionary ranges far both geographically and historically; it features unparalleled coverage of Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome. Providing depth as well as breadth, The Dictionary of Art examines important art forms and key issues of design, taste, function, and patronage, illuminating them in light of the cultural context in which they developed.
Arts of the Hellenized East by
The al-Sabah Collection, Kuwait, houses one of the world's most spectacular collections of ancient silver vessels and other objects made of precious metals. Dating from the centuries following Alexander the Great's conquest of Iran and Bactria in the middle of the 4th century BCE up to the advent of the Islamic era, the beautiful bowls, drinking vessels, platters and other objects in this catalogue suggest that some of the best Hellenistic silverwork was not made in the Greek heartlands, but in this eastern outpost of the Seleucid empire.
Cave Art by
This book reveals some of the world's oldest and most remarkable works of art, the discovery of which transformed the way we think about the development of human artistic endeavour and creativity. A guided tour of European prehistoric caves by world-renowned expert Jean Clottes, Cave Art brings together an unparalleled selection of spectacular and beautiful images of wall paintings, mysterious rock engravings and refined sculptures, all accompanied by accessible, informative text.
The Lost Treasure Persian Art by
Housed in the Hermitage Museum along with other institutes, libraries, and museums in Russia and the republics of the former Soviet Union are some of the most magnificent treasures of Persian Art. For the most part, many of these works have been lost, but have been catalogued and published here for the first time with an unsurpassed selection of colour plates. In a comprehensive introduction, Vladimir Loukonine, Director of the Oriental Art section of the Hermitage Museum, and his colleague Anatoli Ivanov have broadly documented the major developments of Persian Art: from the first signs of civilisation on the plains of Iran around the 10th century BCE through the early 20th century. In the second part of the book they have catalogued Persian Art giving locations, origins, descriptions, and artist biographies where available. Persian Art demonstrates a common theme which runs through the art of the region over the past three millennia. Despite many religious and political upheavals, Persian Art - whether in its architecture, sculpture, frescoes, miniatures, porcelain, fabrics, or rugs; whether in the work of the humble craftsmen or the high art of court painters - displays the delicate touch and subtle refinement which has had a profound influence on art throughout the world.
Narratives and Journeys in Rock Art: a Reader by
This book provides a series of papers from all over the world that extend as far back as the 1970s when rock art research was in its infancy. The papers presented in the Reader reflect the development in the various approaches that have influenced advancing scholarly research.
Art of the Eternal by
Since the first funerary statues were placed in the first sepulchers, the ideas of death and the afterlife have always held a prominent place at the heart of the art world. The ancient Egyptian Book of the Dead, the forever sleeping statues on medieval tombs, and the Romantic and Symbolist movements of the 19th century are all evidence of the incessant interest that fuels the creation of artworks featuring themes of death and what lies beyond it.In this work, Victoria Charles analyses how art has become, through the centuries, the reflection of these interrogations linked to mankind's fate and the hereafter.
Renaissance Paintings by
In utter contrast to the obscurity of the medieval period which preceded it, the rapid and unexpected arrival of the Renaissance conquered Europe during the 14th to the 16th centuries. Placing man at its centre, the actors of this illustrious movement radically altered their vision of the world and refocused their aesthetic pursuits towards anatomy, perspective, and the natural sciences. Creator of numerous talents, the Renaissance offered the history of art great names such as Botticelli, Raphael, and Leonardo da Vinci, whose glorious masterpieces still today hang on the walls of museums the world over.
Renaissance Art by
In a comprehensive introduction, Vladimir Loukonine, Director of the Oriental Art section of the Hermitage Museum, and his colleague Anatoli Ivanov have broadly documented the major developments of Persian Art: from the first signs of civilisation on the plains of Iran around the 10th century BCE through the early 20th century. In the second part of the book they have catalogued Persian Art giving locations, origins, descriptions, and artist biographies where available. Persian Art demonstrates a common theme which runs through the art of the region over the past three millennia. Despite many religious and political upheavals, Persian Art - whether in its architecture, sculpture, frescoes, miniatures, porcelain, fabrics, or rugs; whether in the work of the humble craftsmen or the high art of court painters - displays the delicate touch and subtle refinement which has had a profound influence on art throughout the world.
Michelangelo by
Michelangelo was an exceptional sculptor but also a formidable painter, architect, and poet. His primary material was marble and the results of his talent and work speak for themselves: Can anything compare to his statue of David or the Pietà he carved at the age of 24? Michelangelo lived to be 88 years old, and he worked until the very end of his life. A complicated man, Michelangelo lived his life in constant emotional turmoil and agony, misunderstood by virtually everyone around him.
To cite this LibGuide use the following templates:
APA: Northern Essex Community College Library. (Date updated). Title of page. Title of LibGuide. URL
MLA: Northern Essex Community College Library. "Title of Page." Title of LibGuide, Date updated, URL.
