Skip to Main Content
Created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Partially funded by a U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant (CIBE program), globalEDGE™ is your source for global business knowledge.
Databases for Country Profiles
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history and culture of countries around the world. Includes information for the business traveler.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes scholarly journals, trade journals, and news sources on all areas of business and management. Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses and industry reports.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
International Monetary Fund Country Information
"is an organization of 190 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
UNICEF Data: Country Profiles
"UNICEF’s Data Team is the global go-to for data on children. It leads the collection, validation, analysis, use and communication of the most statistically sound, internationally comparable data on the situation of children and women around the world. The team upholds the quality, integrity and organization of these data and makes them accessible as a global public good on the data.unicef.org website."
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
Statistical database of ECE, the Economic and Social Commission for Europe. Includes country overviews and statistics on economics, forestry, gender, transport, and other areas.
TradeStats Express-National and State Trade Data
"Interactive dashboards and infographics providing data on U.S. goods trade at the national, state, and metropolitan area levels" from the international Trade Administration
International Trade Administration U.S. Department of Commerce
" manages this global trade site to provide access to ITA information on promoting trade and investment, strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. industry, and ensuring fair trade and compliance with trade laws and agreements "
Census.gov : Foreign Trade
This is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and is responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States.
" search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade."
World Bank Open Data
"coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. Working closely with the Bank’s regions and Global Practices, the group is guided by professional standards in the collection, compilation and dissemination of data to ensure that all data users can have confidence in the quality and integrity of the data produced."
PBR (Population Reference Bureau) Data Center
"providing information to individuals all around the world regarding population, health, and the environment. The organization specializes in the translation of the population demographics and health research, the analysis of the United States and international demographics, social and economic trends, and expanding the platform for general database research"
To cite this LibGuide use the following templates:
APA: Northern Essex Community College Library. (Date updated). Title of page. Title of LibGuide. URL
MLA: Northern Essex Community College Library. "Title of Page." Title of LibGuide, Date updated, URL.