Research Guides: Business Guide: Get Started

Search Everything

Business Databases

In most cases, a keyword search is the best way to search for articles on a topic. To get the best results, consider the most important concepts in your search, then separate them with an "and" in the search box.

For example, if you are looking for an article about alternative energy businesses. Try searching for alternative energy and businesses. Think of ways the author might say the same thing. Try green businesses or energy and innovation.

If you can't find articles on your topic, contact a NECC Librarian.

Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides information on company performance and activity, industry events and trends. Articles from trade publications, newspapers and journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes scholarly journals, trade journals, and news sources on all areas of business and management. Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses and industry reports.
Hospitality & Tourism This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive periodical collection for all areas of the hospitality industry, including the cultural aspects of travel and leisure activities, the economic impact of tourism and more.

Formerly known as the Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage for regional business publications, including business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
New York Times Website (Full Access) This link opens in a new window
Create an account using your NECC email address and access all articles and multimedia on the NYTimes.com website or through the New York Times mobile apps. If you have already signed up for an account on this device, click here.

Create an account at the link above by searching for and selecting Northern Essex Community College. On the registration page, click "create an account" and complete the fields. You must use your Northern Essex Community College email address. Once you've verified your account, you will have full access to the NYTimes.com website.

Full-Text Business Journals

Full-Text Finder provides a list of full-text Business Journals available through the NECC library databases. You can enter a topic or search within that journal using the search box. Click on a specific title and select a database to see a chronological list of issues. Some popular business Journals include:

Entrepreneur
"Articles, interviews, business profiles, financing, marketing, advertising and legislative news of note aimed at the small business owner or those planning to start a new or additional business."
Fast Company
Journal "empowers innovators to challenge convention and create the future of business"
Forbes
"For corporate officers and other major executives in business interested in developing management insight through review of the nation's largest corporations."

Want an Article That's Not Available Free Through Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a resource worth trying if you do not find the information you need using the library databases. Google Scholar searches for scholarly articles using the standard Google search box and the techniques you use to operate in a Google search. Unfortunately, some academic articles you will find using Google Scholar are not available in full-text or are not free.

Hit a paywall? One disadvantage of Google Scholar is that not everything is freely available. Before you spend any money online:

Ask a librarian for help.
Fill out an interlibrary loan request, and we will try to get the article from another library.
Use Full-Text Finder to search for the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper that published the article to determine if NECC databases provide the full text.
Check the Boston Public Library's holdings. Anyone who lives, works, or attends college in Massachusetts can get an electronic library card and access to all the BPL's electronic holdings.