Skip to Main Content

ENG 101: English Composition I

A required course to develop critical thinking and clear, effective writing. This course explores the reading and writing processes, and emphasizes source-based writing.

Annotated Bibliographies

The Oxford English Dictionary defines annotate as "To add notes to, furnish with notes," and bibliography as "A list of the books of a particular author, printer, or country, or of those dealing with any particular theme; the literature of a subject." If you put these two terms together then you have the phrase "annotated bibliography." Which simply means that you are writing notes on a group of sources related to a specific subject.

 

"Annotate, v." OED Online, Oxford University Press, www.oed.com/view/Entry/7920. Accessed 24 July 2019.

"Bibliography, n." OED Online, Oxford University Press, www.oed.com/view/Entry/18631. Accessed 24 July 2019.

While you are researching your topic you will compile a list of sources. Once you have your sources, create complete citations for them. After you have read through your sources think about these few questions, as they relate to your research:

  1. What is the scope/purpose of the source?
  2. Why is the author of the source considered an expert?
  3. What is the value of the source as it relates to your research?

Once you have answered those three questions, then you have the entry for your annotated bibliography. 

  • Annotations are typically 100-200 words. In this case, less is more. 
  • Abstracts are summaries of the entirety of a resource, annotations are shorter and are meant to convey the most important pieces of the larger resource they are describing. 
  • It can often be easier to annotate your sources after you have incorporated them into your papers, as you will theoretically have a better understanding of their content at this time.
  • Unless otherwise instructed by your professor, your annotated bibliography should be on its own page with the header being "Annotated Bibliography." Be sure to follow typical MLA formatting for size (12-point) and font (Times New Roman).

For more information on annotated bibliographies, check out the resources linked below. As always, if you need more help, please ask a librarian.

Types of Annotated Bibliographies

This example shows how the Modern Language Association (MLA) typically formats annotated bibliographies. Always consult your assignment guidelines and/or your professor for any special requirements.

Sample Annotated Bibliography with standard MLA formatting

Basic Information:

  • You should have the phrase "Annotated Bibliography" centered on the first line of your page
  • All citations should be in alphabetical order
  • Your annotation should start immediately after your citation ends
  • A hanging indent is used through our annotated bibliography, this allows for easy differentiation between citations/annotations

This example shows how an annotated bibliography should appear if you are instructed to use paragraph format for your annotations. Always consult your assignment guidelines and/or your professor for any special requirements.

Sample Annotated Bibliography in paragraph format

Basic Information:

  • You should have the phrase "Annotated Bibliography" centered on the first line of your page
  • All citations should be in alphabetical order
  • Your annotation should start on the line below the end of your citation
  • Use a standard paragraph indent for any/all paragraphs of your annotation 
  • A hanging indent is used through our annotated bibliography, this allows for easy differentiation between citations/annotations

NoodleTools is a citation management tool provided to you by NECC. It helps you to accurately create your citations, and it will also allow you to add annotations*. Once your citations and annotations are entered into the interface, you can easily download your Annotated Bibliography for incorporation into your essay/assignment. 

 

For more on NoodleTools, click the link below.

*NoodleTools formats annotated bibliographies in standard MLA format

To cite this LibGuide use the following templates:

APA: Northern Essex Community College Library. (Date updated). Title of page. Title of LibGuide. URL

MLA: Northern Essex Community College Library. "Title of Page." Title of LibGuide, Date updated, URL.