Research Guides: ENG 101: English Composition I: Getting Started

English 101

Welcome to the landing page for English 101 - English Composition at Northern Essex Community College. Here you will find a variety of resources (books, ebooks, databases, etc...) to help you with your English 101 class. Under the "Getting Started" tab you will find tips on where to look for these resources, how to cite your sources in MLA format, and how to format your MLA style paper.

Some of the English Professors here at NECC have requested that the NECC librarians pull together resources on specific topics. These instructor-specific pages are housed here as well. To access these, simply click on the tab that has your professor's name on it.

If you need help at any time, please, do not hesitate to ask a librarian.

Getting Started: Selecting a Topic

In English 101, you will do a lot of writing, including a research paper. Sometimes your professor will assign your topic, and sometimes you will get to choose your own. If you need to choose your own topic, there are several ways we can help you. Please click the links below to investigate further.

Once you have found your topic, you will need to look for good sources for your paper. You will want to find books and articles from the library databases on your topic. Click on the tabs for information about these resources.

Suggested books to help you select your topic:

10,000 Ideas for Term Papers, Projects, Reports & Speeches by Kathryn Lamm
Call Number: Ref LB1047.3 .L35 1998
ISBN: 0028625129
Publication Date: 1998-10-18
Ideal for English, history, social studies or science courses, this guide covers 130 categories, with each topic keyed to level of difficulty, availability of research material, and possibilities for variation.
The "Backwards" Research Guide for Writers: Using Your Life for Reflection, Connection and Inspiration by Sonya Huber
Call Number: PE1404 .H83 2011; Read Online
ISBN: 9781845534417
Publication Date: 2011-11-30
The 'Backwards' Research Guide for Writers demystifies the writing process by inviting writers of all levels to focus on their passions, questions, and obsessions as the key to generating seeds for further exploration of the world around them.
Student Research and Report Writing: From Topic Selection to the Complete Paper by Gabe T. Wang; Keumjae Park
Call Number: Read Online
ISBN: 9781118963944
Publication Date: 2015-11-25
This is an invaluable, concise, all-in-one guide for carrying out student research and writing a paper, adaptable to course use and suitable for use by students independently, it successfully guides students along every step of the way.

Suggested databases to help you select your topic:

Boston Globe (1980 – present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Boston Globe from 1980 - present day. This is a great resource to use to find current topics.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text reference titles covering all major subject areas.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database contains information about controversial social issues, including full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, and selected books, pro and con opinion pieces, statistics, primary source documents, and links to external websites. Check the titles of some of their recent reports and maybe one will interest you. It is a good idea to choose a topic on which you have not decided exactly how you feel. That way you can weigh all sides of the issue while you do your research.

How do I get a Library Card?

Your library card allows you to access your NECC Library Account to request and renew books and other items.

Your library barcode can be found in the bottom corner of your NECC Student ID card. Visit the Welcome Express Desk in the Behrakis One-Stop Student Center, 100 Elliot Street in Haverhill, or the Welcome Express Desk in the John R. Dimitry Building at 45 Franklin Street, Lawrence, MA 01840 to receive a new Student ID with the library card number or use the following information:

Your library card number is 203850 + your 8-digit NECC ID Number.

(For instance, if your Student ID number is 00223344, your library card number is: 20385000223344)

Your password is your 8-digit birthday.

(For instance, if your birthday is April 15, 1996, your password is: 04151996)

If this information does not work, contact the library. NECC ID numbers expire once you stop taking classes, or after a set period of time if you are not a student.