Skip to main content

Early Childhood Education

A guide to resources in international early childhood education.

What is the Caldecott Medal?

The Caldecott Medal is "an award presented annually by the American Library Association to the illustrator of the most distinguished American picturebook for children published in the United States in the preceding year. The recipient must be a citizen or resident of the United States. The award was established in 1938."

"Caldecott Medal." The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, edited by Victor Watson, Cambridge University Press, 1st edition, 2001. Credo

For a complete list of all Caldecott Medal Winning books please click the link below. To see which titles are available in the NECC libraries please scroll down the page or use the links in the left column to jump to a specific decade.

Caldecott Medal Winners 2011 - Present

Caldecott Medal Winners 2001 - 2010

Caldecott Medal Winners 1991 - 2000

Caldecott Medal Winners 1981 - 1990

Caldecott Medal Winners 1971 - 1980

Caldecott Medal Winners 1961 - 1970

Caldecott Medal Winners 1951 - 1960

Caldecott Medal Winners 1938 - 1950

To cite this LibGuide use the following templates:

APA: Northern Essex Community College Library. (Date updated). Title of page. Title of LibGuide. URL

MLA: Northern Essex Community College Library. "Title of Page." Title of LibGuide, Date updated, URL.