Early Childhood Education

Basic format for periodicals:​

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Periodical, vol. #, issue no. #, Publication Date, pages. Database Name*, DOI/URL. Date of Access**.

*Only put the name of the database that an article was found in if it was found in a database. If it was found in print or on the web omit this section.

**You only need to put a date of access if there is not a publication date.

From an academic/scholarly journal:​

Overton, Tiffany L., et al. “Distracted Driving: Prevalence, Problems, and Prevention.” International Journal of Injury Control & Safety Promotion, vol. 22, no. 3, Sept. 2015, pp. 187–192. Academic Search Complete, doi:10.1080/17457300.2013.879482.

Smith, Gary, and Margaret Hwang Smith. "Like Mother, Like Daughter? An Economic Comparison of Immigrant Mothers and Their Daughters." International Migration, vol. 51, no. 2, 2013, pp. 181-190.

From a newspaper:​

Healy, Melissa. "Opioid Addiction can be Overcome with Mindfulness, Study Suggests." Los Angeles Times, 17 Oct. 2019, www.latimes.com/science/story/2019-10-17/addiction-to-opioids-can-be-overcome-with-mindfulness.

Martin, Naomi. "New Hampshire's Opioid Crisis Looms Over Marijuana Legalization Debate." Boston Globe, 5 Feb. 2019. ProQuest, login.ezproxyness.helmlib.org/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.ezproxyness.helmlib.org/docview/2176030699?accountid=37958.

Max, Arthur. “Blair Begins Mission as Mideast Envoy.” The Boston Globe, 24 July 2007, p. A3.

From a popular magazine:​

Ford, Anne. "It's Not Such a Small World After All: Introducing Older Adults to Virtual Reality." American Libraries, vol. 50, no. 3/4, Mar./Apr. 2019, pp. 22-23.

Gugliotta, Guy. “The Maya: Glory and Ruin.” National Geographic, vol. 212, no. 2, Aug. 2007, pp. 68‐73.

Toensmeier, Eric, and Dennis Garrity. “The Biomass Bottleneck.” Scientific American, vol. 323, no. 2, Aug. 2020, pp. 64-71. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=144469972&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Basic format for web sources:

Author or Editor (if given). "Title of Webpage." Name of Website. Publisher or Sponsor of the website*, Date published or updated, URL/DOI/permalink. Accessed date**.
 

United States, Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. "Art Directors." Occupational Outlook Handbook, 8 Aug. 2018, www.bls.gov.ooh/arts-and-design/art-directors/htm.

“The Most Haunted Places in Boston.” Ghosts & Gravestones, www.ghostsandgravestones.com/boston/haunted-places.php. Accessed 8 Apr. 2020

Teitell, Beth. "Why We Turn into Different People When We Fly." Boston Globe, 9 July 2019, www.bostonglobe.com/metro/2019/07/09/   why-turn-into-different-people-when-ly/sxf7XYIHGpm0FkfVct L26M/story.html.

Many web sources do not always provide all of the above information (such as an individual author, or a publication date). Check the pages under the "more help" tab, or, ask a librarian!

* If the Publisher is the same as the name of the website, omit it. See the Teitell example above

** You do not need to put a date of access if there is a date of publication on the webpage. If there is not a date of publication or date last updated, do not use the copyright date of the website. Use the date you accessed the webpage/website and place it at the end of your citation after the URL/DOI/Permalink. See "The Most Haunted" example above.

Basic format for Twitter:

@Twitter handle. "Insert the entire tweet here." Twitter, DD Mon. YYYY, Time of the post*, URL of tweet. 
*to find the time of posting hover over the date of the posting itself. 

@BostonGlobe. "Not all potholes are created equal. Some have cost the City of Boston thousands of dollars in payments.
bos.gl/MgY2nvG." Twitter, 2 Apr. 2018, 4:59 a.m., twitter.com/BostonGlobe/status/980776643068399616. 

Basic format for Facebook:

Author Last Name, First Name or Account Name. Description of Post*. Facebook, DD Mon. YYYY, Time of Post, URL.
*as Facebook posts can be lengthy, simply write your own short description of the post.

The Boston Globe. Eversource talks about ways to cut down on power outages. Facebook, 1 Apr. 2018, 10:15 p.m., www.facebook.com/globe/.

For more help citing social media using MLA style please check out this page of the Purdue OWL website

Basic format for a webinar:

Lastname, Firstname of presenter. Title of Webinar*. Publisher or organization responsible for the webinar, Date of Webinar, URL (only necessary if watching a recorded webinar). Webinar**.
 

Gibson, Angela. MLA Style 101. Modern Language Association, 22 Aug. 2017. Webinar.

Gibson, Angela. MLA Style 101. Modern Language Association, 30 Aug. 2017, outreach.mla.org/mla-style.

*Note that the title of the webinar is styled without quotation marks or italics.

**It is optional to add the word "Webinar" after the date of a live webinar, or the URL of a pre-recorded webinar.

Basic format for PowerPoint presentations:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Presentation. Name of Learning Management System, uploaded by Firstname Lastname*, Date uploaded, URL of the Learning Management System. PowerPoint presentation*.
 

Carson, Sandy. Introduction to Digital Humanities. Blackboard, uploaded by Carson, 20 Oct. 2019, blackboard.ucla.edu/. PowerPoint presentation.

*It is optional to add the words "PowerPoint presentation" after the URL of the Learning Management System. 

Basic format for a work of art:

Artist or username. Title. Date the image was created. Medium. Museum, City. Database name or title of site,  URL. Date of access.

Chagall, Marc. Village Street. 1930s. Oil on canvas. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. Museum of Fine Arts, www.mfa.org/collections/object/village-street-34267. Accessed 1 Oct. 2014.
 

An example from a database:

Chagall, Marc.The Yellow Room. 1911. Oil on canvas. Private collection. Artstor, library.artstor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?id=%2FThWdC8hIywtPygxFTx5RngtU3IqeFo%3D&userId=hzZAfDkg&zoomparams=. Accessed 21 Sept. 2016.

Basic format for video(s):

Title of the video. Directed by Name Lastname, Distributor, Year.

Example of a film:

Demolition Man. Directed by Marco Brambilla, Warner Bros. Pictures, 1993.

Examples of a video uploaded on YouTube:

McGonigal, Jane. “Gaming and Productivity.” YouTube, uploaded by Big Think, 3 July 2012, www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkdzy9bWW3E.

 "Kingston's Warning to the Jericho Appreciation Society is Heard Loud & Clear. AEW Dynamite, 4/27/22." YouTube, uploaded by All Elite Wrestling, 28 April 2022, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1YsiX7j8XU

Example of a television episode on a streaming service:

"Eighteen Years Lost". Making a Murderer, season 1, episode 1, Synthesis Films, 2015. Netflix, https://www.netflix.com/title/80000770

The library offers FREE access to the citation manager NoodleTools. NoodleTools can help you keep track of and organize your citations, and automatically create bibliographies. Click on the image or link below for more information.

Here are some other resources that you may find helpful in learning how to appropriately cite materials using the 8th edition of the Modern Language Association Handbook​. 

If you need more assistance, please ask a librarian.

In-text citations can change based upon the number of authors that a source has. Follow the examples below for creating accurate in-text citations for your references.

Some sources will not have individual authors, but rather group authors. In these instances, you will still need to cite the item as you would any source with an author. Follow the example below for an accurate in-text citation of a source with a group author.

It is important to note that you should always define the abbreviation for a group author before using it. Thereafter, it is appropriate to use the abbreviation for all mentions of the group in the text.

At times you will come across sources where there is no author listed. If this happens, use a shortened version of the title in your in-text citation.

There are different ways to format quotes when they are used in your paper. Follow the guidelines below for proper formatting. For more detailed information on how to format specific types of quotes, see section 1.3 of the MLA Handbook 8th edition.

Short Quotations (Fewer than 4 lines)

Include the quotation in the regular text of your paper. Be sure to use quotation marks and add an in-text citation with a page number.

Example:

For Charles Dickens, the eighteenth century was both "the best of times" and "the worst of times" (35). 

Block Quotations (4 or more lines)

If a quote runs for four or more lines, treat it as a block quote. Start the block quote on its own line and indent the entire quote 0.5” from the left margin, be sure that it is also double-spaced, with no extra spaces before or after it. Do not use quotation marks for block quotes.

Use a parenthetical citation after the closing punctuation for the sentence or use the author in a narrative introduction before the quote. If you choose to use a narrative introduction, be sure to include the page number of the quote after the final punctuation.

Example 1:

Hanauer discusses the many ways in which the American education system has seemingly failed its people and led to significant income inequality. He explains that the problem is far greater than just that of the 

"skills gap"—the notion that decades of wage stagnation are largely a consequence of workers not having the education and skills to fill new high-wage jobs. If we improve our public schools, the thinking goes, and we increase the percentage of students attaining higher levels of education, particularly in the STEM subjects—science, technology, engineering, and math—the skills gap will shrink, wages will rise, and income inequality will fall. (20)

Example 2:

When people think of the word "pirate" today they probably conjure up images of shipwrecks on beaches, cracked bottles of rum, perhaps of Johnny Depp. They also probably think that piracy on the ocean is a thing of the past, however, piracy on the open seas, especially the Atlantic Ocean is still booming even today.  

According to the Office of Naval Intelligence’s “Weekly Piracy Reports” 72 reported incidents of piracy and armed robbery at sea occurred in the GoG region this year as of July 9, 2019. Attacks, kidnappings for ransom (KFR), and boardings to steal valuables from the ships and crews are the most common types of incidents with approximately 75 percent of all incidents taking place off Nigeria. During the first six months of 2019, there were 15 kidnapping and 3 hijackings in the GoG. (Central Intelligence Agency)

Tables

Tables in MLA 9 ed. style should follow the format depicted below. In this example, the author cites a table from a primary source. Therefore, there should be a note below the table that states where the tables have been adapted from.  There should also be a note with a description of the table.

Illustrations

MLA classified illustrations and graphics as figures. The citation for the figure should follow the example below.  Notice that the description starts with “Fig. [number],” followed by the citation.