Skip to main content

Early Childhood Education

A guide to resources in international early childhood education.

What is a Database?

Video transcript available at: http://bit.ly/WhatIsADatabase

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a good source of full-text articles, popular and scholarly, on a wide variety of topics. Most of the articles are from sources which are not available using search engines such as Google.

Enter your keywords in the search box to search all the journals in this database.

Academic Search Premier
Find other databases on the library's A to Z database list.

Education Databases

To focus your search in journals specific to Education, try one of the databases linked below.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly articles using the familiar Google search box, and the techniques you are used to using in a Google search. Google Scholar is a resource worth trying if you find the information you need using the library databases. Unfortunately, some of the scholarly articles you will find using Google Scholar are not available in full-text or are not free.  

Hit a paywall? One disadvantage to Google Scholar is that not everything is freely available. You may be asked to pay money in order to view the article. Before you pay any money:

  1. Ask a librarian for help. 
  2. Fill out an interlibrary loan request and we will try to get the article from another library.
  3. Use Full-Text Finder to search for the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper that published the article to find out if NECC databases provide the full-text.
  4. Check the holdings of Boston Public Library. Anyone who lives, works, or attends college in Massachusetts can get an electronic library card and access to all the BPL's electronic holdings.

To cite this LibGuide use the following templates:

APA: Northern Essex Community College Library. (Date updated). Title of page. Title of LibGuide. URL

MLA: Northern Essex Community College Library. "Title of Page." Title of LibGuide, Date updated, URL.