Skip to Main Content

Nursing

Library resources and useful links for students in NECC's Nursing Program.

What is Evidence-Based Nursing?

Evidence-Based Nursing (EBN) refers to a process in which nurses arrive at a clinical decision using the best research evidence available along with clinical expertise and patient values. Scott, K. and McSherry, R. (2009). Evidence-based nursing: clarifying the concepts for nurses in practice. Journal of Clinical Nursing, 18: 1085–1095. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2702.2008.02588

Evidence Based Books & eBooks

Evidence-Based Nursing by Brian Haynes (Editor); Susan Marks (Editor); Nicky Cullum (Editor); Donna Ciliska (Editor)
Call Number: RT 42.E93 2008eb
Publication Date: 2007-12-26
*eBook
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by Stephanie Poe; Kathleen M. White; Sigma Theta Tau International Staff (Contribution by); Johns Hopkins University Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: *eBook
ISBN: 9781930538917
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Implementing Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses by Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk; Ellen Fineout-Overholt; Sigma Theta Tau International Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: RT 84.5 .I47 2011eb
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
*eBook

Evidence Based Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the professional source for full-text articles from over 580 journals in nursing and allied health.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text , scholarly and scientific articles on current issues in psychology. Contains all journal articles, book reviews, etc. published in American Psychological Association (APA) journals.

TRIP Database
Trip is a clinical search engine created for users to find high-quality research evidence to inform evidence based practice. Trip contains filters on the right hand side of any search that help in locating specific types of studies based on the needs of your clinical question. Many links to full text articles are available through this database.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
JAMA Evidence Glossary

To cite this LibGuide use the following templates:

APA: Northern Essex Community College Library. (Date updated). Title of page. Title of LibGuide. URL

MLA: Northern Essex Community College Library. "Title of Page." Title of LibGuide, Date updated, URL.