Library resources are organized by subject. This means we group all of the books and resources on a topic under the same heading or link. In the catalog box on this page, set the drop-down menu to "Subject" and try some of these terms:
You may also want to search for a specific type of dance like this: Jive (Dance) or Rumba (Dance)
Full-Text Finder provides a list of full-text Dance Magazines and Journals available through the NECC Libraries Databases.To browse through a journal, click on one of the database links, then select an issue.
You can then either choose a specific issue, or search within that journal using the search box.
Want to know more about career opportunities in dance? The BLS Occupational Outlook site has excellent, current information.
The NECC Libraries have over 46,000 books and films. We also have a collection of 20,000 e-books which are in our library catalog. If you want to see what the other libraries in our network own, change the scope to All HELM or View Entire Collection. You can request books and movies using your NECC Library card and PIN number.
Remember, if you can't find any material on your topic, ask an NECC librarian for assistance.
Find books, e-books and more by searching the NECC library catalog
There are also many organizations focusing on a specific type of dance (the World Swing Dance Council, for instance).
Because dance can touch on many subjects in many ways, we might find articles in many different places. We might search for dancers and dance history in a general database, but dance therapy or dance as exercise in a health database, and dance education in an education database.
Here is a short list of databases to begin your search, but if you have a more specific topic, ask a librarian which database might yield the most relevant results.
To cite this LibGuide use the following templates:
APA: Northern Essex Community College Library. (Date updated). Title of page. Title of LibGuide. URL
MLA: Northern Essex Community College Library. "Title of Page." Title of LibGuide, Date updated, URL.