Skip to main content

NECC Library Archives

This guide provides information about the NECC Library Archvies and serves as an access point for archival materials and information.

Explore NECC's History through the NECC Library Archive!

 

The NECC Library Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to the historical records of Northern Essex Community College as an institution of higher education in the Merrimack Valley, and valued pillar of the local community.

A group picture of students on the steps of the People's Methodist Church on Chadwick Street in Bradford, 1965.

Early Northern Essex students, 1965.

A group picture of students on the steps of the People's Methodist Church on Chadwick Street in Bradford, 1965. Some classes were held in the basement of the Church, which is located across the street from the Greenleaf School. 

Northen Essex Community College at the Greenleaf School, 1961.

The first official Northern Essex Community College classes were held in 1961 in a portion of the Greenleaf school located in Haverhill Massachusetts.  Before the establishment of the campus on Lake Kenoza, NECC students attended classes in various locations in the Town of Haverhill and Bradford. 

5 members of the NECC basketball team in uniform holding up a trophy.

NECC basketball team holding trophy, 1970.

The NECC Basketball team of 1970 included players Peter Saulis, Richard Corrigan, Joe Goldsmith, David Levine, Larry Snow, Jim Curry, Neil Reardon, Dan Habib and Jim Locklaire. Coached by Jack Wysong and Assistant Coach Al Bradley.

Michael Dukakis delivering a commencement address at a podium on a stage at NECC commencement in 1986.

Michael Dukakis at NECC Commencement, May 1986.

Massachusetts Governor Michael Dukakis delivering the commencement address at NECC's 25th Anniversary Commencement on May 31st, 1986. 

Students in a photography class learning about the equipment, circa 1965-1970.

Students in a photography lab, circa 1965-1970.

Classes in the arts have always been a part of the curriculum at NECC. Picutred here, students are exploring photography equipment in a classroom at one of the early Haverhill campus locations. 

NECC students in plain clothes playing volleyball.

Student volleyball game, 1983.

NECC students gathered on green space at the Haverhill campus playing an informal game of volleyball, in the spring on 1983. 

NECC Library Archives Mission & Vision

The NECC Library Archives are a repository of records for Northern Essex Community College, with the goal of identifying, collecting, preserving, and making available for research and reference College records of enduring historical value.

The primary purpose for collecting such records is to document the history and development of Northern Essex Community College since its foundation in 1961.

The primary goals of the NECC Library Archives are:

  • To ensure the long-term preservation and storage of historical records pertaining to Northern Essex Community College.
  • To continually improve access to and encourage the use of collections by the College, the community, & researchers.

To cite this LibGuide use the following templates:

APA: Northern Essex Community College Library. (Date updated). Title of page. Title of LibGuide. URL

MLA: Northern Essex Community College Library. "Title of Page." Title of LibGuide, Date updated, URL.